Posted by: kezhong | July 23, 2011

Install Cisco Packet Tracer 5.3.1 on Fedora 15(X86_64)

Cisco Packet Tracer is a router and switch simulator. It is used to practice setting up cisco routers and switches using cisco’s proprietary IOS. I installed the Packet Tracer 5.3.1 on my Fedora 15 (X86_64) desktop system.

Download the PacketTracer tarball from the following link
http://hotfile.com/dl/81148749/bc7ca56/PacketTracer531_Fedora.tar.gz

Extract the tar ball
# tar xzf PacketTracer531_Fedora.tar.gz

Install
# cd PacketTracer53
# ./install

Run
# packettracer

When I run it at the first time, it just displayed “Starting Packet Tracer 5.3″ and quit to command prompt without any error message. I edited the /opt/pt/packettracer file, and modified as below

#!/bin/bash

echo Starting Packet Tracer 5.3

PTDIR=/opt/pt
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$PTDIR/lib
#pushd $PTDIR/bin > /dev/null
#./PacketTracer5 $@ > /dev/null 2>&1
#popd > /dev/null
pushd $PTDIR/bin
./PacketTracer5 $@
popd

Run “packettracer” again, it told me I need to install ld-linux.so.2. I installed it, and run again. It told me I need to install libpng12.so.0, and so on. After I installed all the lack packages, it began to run normally. Finally, I recovered the /opt/pt/packettracer file to its original.

Responses

  1. I have f15 and install with no problems.

    Thanks

  2. i got it from here, it works well: Packet Tracer 5.3

  3. After running ‘packettracer’ with your modifications to the /opt/pt/packettracer file, I get:

    $ ./packettracer
    Starting Packet Tracer 5.3
    /opt/pt/bin /usr/local/bin
    ./packettracer: line 11: ./PacketTracer5: No such file or directory
    /usr/local/bin

    x86_64 architecture. Any ideas?

    • thanks bro you saved my life

  4. I cant get PT to run on 64 bit FC 16.

    I used the tarball and when I start the app it says starting packet tracer and thats it.

  5. plz send me link for packet tracer for rhel6 64bit

  6. [...] http://kezhong.wordpress.com/2011/07/23/install-cisco-packet-tracer-5-3-1-on-fedora-15x86_64/ This entry was posted in Linux, Software and tagged Fedora. Bookmark the permalink. ← [...]

  7. packet tracer is working fine fedora 15 64bit after the extracting the folder using tar -xzf you only need to accept the user license agrement and follow the next instruction after that if u run as root it will be popping up and disapper u need to login by su – user and run packettracer command it will work fine.

  8. hello, thanks for this instruction, my packettracer it works.
    My problem now is when I want to run the pt application I have to run command. My question is how to command to put the PacketTracer into my Application Menu Bar.

    Thanks.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

