Posted by: kezhong | December 15, 2008

Making my own Fedora Live CD

I finally finished this lab today. I tried to use 3 fs files, the privious 2 could not work. The following is my steps.

Firstly, I installed the livecd tool.

#yum install livecd-tools

Secondly, I entered the /usr/share/livecd-tools directory, picked a fs file and edited it to modify the Selinux to disabled.

Thirdly, I run the command “livecd-creator -c livecd-fedora-minimal.ks”, it failed. Then I tried to use the “livecd-fedora-9-kde.ks” file, it also failed. Finally, I used the file “livecd-fedora-9-base-desktop.ks”, it successed.

Finally, I used the Virtual Machine Manager to verify, it OK.

lab91


Responses

  1. I try to create a Minimal Fedora10 Live CD.

    This is my .ks file:
    ########################################
    lang en_US.UTF-8
    keyboard us
    timezone US/Central
    auth –useshadow –enablemd5
    selinux –permissive
    firewall –disabled
    part / –size 1024

    repo –name=development –mirrorlist=http://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/mirrorlist?repo=rawhide&arch=$basearch

    %packages
    @core
    bash
    kernel
    passwd
    policycoreutils
    chkconfig
    authconfig
    rootfiles

    /usr/sbin/lokkit

    %end
    ########################################

    NOTE: I changed selinux to permissive before run the livecd-tools command:
    #setenforce 0
    #getenforce

    I save the minimal.ks file and run:
    #livecd-creator –config=./minimal.ks

    Return an error: Error creating Live CD : Unable to disable SELinux because the installed package set did not include the file /usr/sbin/lokkit

    Googling a little bit found the need to add: /usr/sbin/lokkit. I’m not sure why at this point, seems like something is kind of buggy but seems to be working its donwloading a bunch of packages from the Internet… this is the first attempt… I really like to create a minimal Fedora with XFCE.

    Also like to see if there is a way to compress using the tecniques used by the slackware based distro Slax. http://www.slax.org/. I should admit Slax rocks. just noticed Knoppix launch a new Live CD 6.0 http://www.knopper.net/knoppix/knoppix60-en.html can’t wait to give it a try…

    Another improvement I like to do is to use the info from the article: http://lwn.net/Articles/299483/ and make Fedora boot in 5 seconds… really like to see improvement, but anyway just want to leave my comments in case someone else like to create his own Fedora Base Live Distro =)

    Dinooz

  2. Thanks for the /usr/sbin/lokkit tip. I was having the same problem. Any luck getting the 5 second or the XFCE version running?

  3. hi all,
    thanks for sharing information :-)

    basically I’m trying to spin a _very_ small system.
    using Fedora 15, livecd-tools 15.7-1.fc15

    In my case “/usr/sbin/lokkit” doesnt work,
    livecd-creator still complains:
    Error creating Live CD : Unable to disable SELinux because the installed package set did not include the file /usr/sbin/lokkit

    can be fixed by adding “system-config-firewall-base” (which IIRC includes /usr/sbin/lokkit)

    …which is what I’m trying to avoid, to keep the installation as small as possible. (“system-config-firewall-base” depends on other packages – python, iptables-ipv6, python-libs, …).

    I imagine something like this:
    – – – snip – – –

    skipx
    text
    cmdline

    #more options needed/possible?
    #how do i get rid of selinux stuff?

    %packages
    @core
    -remove-whatever-possible-from-core
    httpd
    php
    mysql
    php-mysql
    iptables
    rp-pppoe
    %end

    %post
    #remove even more stuff?
    %end
    – – – snip – – –

  4. Hey there, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog site in Ie, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer,
    it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you
    a quick heads up! Other then that, terrific blog!


Leave a Reply

Categories

