Posted by: kezhong | January 4, 2011

Install cPanel & WHM on CentOS5.5

Our customer ordered a server need to install cPanel & WHM on CentOS5.5, so I had a chance to do it.

Firstly, I installed CentOS5.5 operating system on their machine. During the installation, I just installed base, Development libraries, and Development Tools packages. After installation, I updated the system to the latest.

Secondly, I deactivated the firewall, disabled the SELinux.

Thirdly, I modified /etc/resolv.conf file, and appended two lines.
# echo “nameserver 4.2.2.1” >> /etc/resolv.conf
# echo “nameserver 4.2.2.2” >> /etc/resolv.conf

Finally, I downloaded the script “lastest” from http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/latest and executed it to install. After installation, purchased the license and activated it.

When I downloaded the script and executed it, I occurred the problem “Cannot resolve cpanel.net. Please check /etc/resolv.conf. Installation terminated.”. Then I googled this problem, someone said that “4.2.2.1” or “4.2.2.2” need to be appended to /etc/resolv.conf file. I did as they said, it worked.

Reference
http://docs.cpanel.net/twiki/bin/view/AllDocumentation/InstallationGuide/Quick-StartInstallationGuide


Responses

  1. execute the following command to activate your license:

    * /usr/local/cpanel/cpkeyclt

    Getting Started in WHM

    To access the WHM interface:

    1. Type https://$IP:2087 in your preferred web browser.
    * $IP is meant to stand for the IP address of your web server.
    2. Use root as the login name in the Name field.
    3. Enter the root password into the Password field.
    4. Click Log In.


Leave a Reply

Categories

