Posted by: kezhong | January 31, 2012

[Solved]Could not allocate requested partitions: requested size exceeds maximum allowed

We had a server which had 4 hard drivers made RAID10 using LSI hardware RAID card. The total size of hard driver was 4TB. I wanted to install Fedora 16 on it via graphical mode. I choose “Create Custom Layout” to assign partitions. After I assigned BIOS Boot, /boot, and swap partition, and I wanted to assigned the rest size to / partion, it prompted “Could not allocate requested partitions: requested size exceeds maximum allowed”.
I turned back, and pressed Ctrl+Alt+F2 to switch to text terminal,
# parted /dev/sda
(parted) mklabel gpt
(parted) quit
pressed Ctrl+Alt+F6 to switch to graphical terminal, choose “Create Custom Layout” to assign partitions again. Everything was ok.


Responses

  1. Hello, thank you for this tip. It helped me solve my problem with CentOS 6.2 installation. I had 2x 1.5TB in RAID and it needed to be in GPT.

    Thank you

  2. Thank you very much for the tip for solving my problem with RedHat 6 when we are trying to create more than 4 partitions.

  3. Works like a champ.

  4. I tried doing what you advice and it worked until I rebooted after CentOS installation. The server cannot find the /boot. Need help

  5. I have no idea why this worked, but it did. Already parted the disk and labeled gpt. When I go to text mode and start parted it tells me the disk is gpt. mklabel again, overwrite disk, quit, back to gui mode and kaboom… I can create partitions to my heart’s content. The CTRL+ALT+F2 is a very nice little tool. Thanks for the tip.

  6. Great man!
    It works nice!
    Thank you so much!


Leave a comment

Categories